Why does h2d.Object use Math.sin when moving the y axis

Hello!

I am a hobbyist that picked up Heaps in order to learn something new (and hopefully to make a game from); but, as I have bee messing around and learning the 2d framework I noticed that the h2d.Object class had this function

/**
	Move the object by the specied amount along its current direction (rotation angle).
**/
public function move( dx : Float, dy : Float ) {
	x += dx * Math.cos(rotation);
	y += dy * Math.sin(rotation);
}

I extend the Object class to a parent grid class with blocks of tiles; but they can only move on the x axis since my rotation is 0.

I am curious as to why it requires a rotation to move across the y axis?

Thanks!

I mean, I can obviously override my own. I just feel as though I am using this incorrectly

The method documentation provides some insight:

Move the object by the specied amount along its current direction 

So it takes into account the rotation of the object. If you rotate it 90 degrees, then right becomes up (relative to the object).

Thanks for the response alexpana. I get that, but; I guess to me it seems if you have no rotation you would still want to move across the y axis. I thought maybe I was incorrectly using the Object class…

Seems like this would be better no?

/**
    Move the object by the specified amount.
    If rotation is defined shift based on its value
**/
public function move( dx : Float, dy : Float ) {
    if (rotation != 0) {
        dx = dx * Math.cos(rotation);
        dy = dy * Math.sin(rotation);
    }
    x += dx;
    y += dy;
}

Then it would handle both implementations. I wanted to get some feedback before opening a PR, 'cause like I said I am new to this and thought maybe I was missing something.

EDIT: Fixed formatting

There are two issues with your proposal:

1. Equality comparison with floating point numbers is very error prone due to rounding errors.
  2. Branches negatively affect performance.