Should I use heaps? Or not yet? [Beginner]

Tl;Dr I’m a beginner, and want to know if it’s okay for me to jump into Heaps, or if I should strengthen my knowledge and skills with other things first, and if so, what exactly should I focus on learning before jumping into Heaps? //

So I’m a beginner in terms of programming, let alone game development.

I’ve dabbled in some languages from Java, C#, C++. But only the basics at best

I’m looking into starting game development and Haxe & the game engine Heaps.io caught my interest and offers what I would want for a game I want to make. Mainly because of it’s cross-platform capabilities along with 3D graphics.

But I know it’s lacking in documentation, and from what I’m seeing, lots of features or things I would want I’d have to implement myself, (also look into its’ source code).

While I’m fine with this, I feel like for a beginner this will probably be a big undertaking.

Does anybody have any recommendations of what to learn first/what I should look into before jumping into Heaps?

Like: “Hey, first learn an OOP Language in-depth, then learn OpenGL or any other graphics API to understand how 3D graphics work” or whatnot.

Again I’m a beginner in programming, I’m familiar with the terminology and how some things work but only on the surface level.

As much as I’d love to dive head first into Heaps, I feel like it’d be pretty inefficient way to go about it. But if you think it’s totally feasible path to go, then I’d also appreciate letting me know! (But some resources would still be helpful :sweat_smile:)

I think everyone can give it a try and just see if they have fun with Heaps.
Also we have several active users for Heaps (and many for Haxe) on discord.

So in general Heaps isn’t quite an easy to use engine and it is missing a bit of love I feel.